Sharon Grimberg

Sharon Grimberg


Sharon Grimberg is a writer, producer, and director with 18 years of experience working for public television. As senior producer of American Experience for more than a decade, she played a key role in the origination, development, acquisition, and editorial oversight of more than130 films for the series. During her tenure, the series received dozens of industry awards including the Peabody Award, Primetime Emmys, the duPont-Columbia Journalism Award, Writers Guild Awards, Oscar nominations, Audience and Grand Jury Awards at the Sundance Film Festival, and the Eric Barnouw Award from the Organization of American Historians.

Grimberg was the executive producer of The Abolitionists, a three-part series that focuses on how abolitionist allies turned a despised fringe movement against slavery into a force that literally changed the nation. The series was nominated for a Primetime Emmy and a Writers Guild Award. Grimberg was also the executive producer of the multi-platform mini-series We Shall Remain, and a producer/writer on the first episode, After the Mayflower.

Currently, Grimberg is developing a two-hour film about Senator Joseph McCarthy for broadcast on American Experience as well as a film about the circus in American hi